Green Is My Name


Would you like some irony to go with that pepper?
May 20, 2009, 4:41 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I would like to introduce you to the organic section of one of the supermarkets, Key Food,  in my neighborhood:

That’s right its organic food, wrapped in plastic, on Styrofoam trays.

So, I put on my best Fake Plastic Fish hat, and wrote them a letter:

To Whom It May Concern:

I frequently shop at your 22-15 31st Street location in Astoria, New York. I love that you have an organic produce section and would love to be able to make purchases from that section of your store. I believe that eating organic produce is a smart and healthy choice, and I applaud you for including it in your inventory.

However, I am concerned by the way you choose to package the organic goods. Produce is placed on Styrofoam trays and then wrapped in thin plastic film. As you may know, both Styrofoam and plastic do not biodegrade and will last forever. After a small moment of use, this packaging will become permanent trash. Instead of using this additional packaging, do you think it would be possible to instead sell the produce free of packaging, in the same style you sell conventionally grown goods?

I look forward to hearing from you,

Caitlin

Lets see what happens from here.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment